Getting started
WoW Forever talents: trees, dual spec and what changed for every class
Yuki14 min read
In short
WoW Forever keeps three talent trees per class with the same number of rows as patch 1.12, but every class is reworked. Talents start at level 10, key talents sit at 11, 21 and 31 points plus a new 16-point milestone, and you change them at a class trainer in a capital city. Dual Specialization opens at level 40, and Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild are now baseline.
Key points
- Talents start at level 10 and keep the same number of rows as patch 1.12.
- Key one-point talents sit at 11, 21 and 31 points, plus a new 16-point milestone in each tree.
- You change talents, Legacy talents included, at a class trainer in a capital city; Dual Specialization opens at level 40.
- Three group buffs no longer need a talent: Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild.
- Blizzard has now detailed all nine classes: the paladin deep dive, the last one, came out on October 15, 2026.
How do talents work in WoW Forever?
WoW Forever keeps the classic talent structure: three trees per class, the same number of rows as patch 1.12, and points from level 10. Blizzard says some talents remain exactly as they were in 1.12 while others were adjusted or improved, and every class gets new ones. Key one-point talents still sit at 11, 21 and 31 points, and a new 16-point milestone is added.
| Rule | WoW Forever |
|---|---|
| First talent point | Level 10 |
| Rows per tree | Same number as patch 1.12 |
| Key one-point talents | At 11, 16 (new milestone), 21 and 31 points |
| Where to change talents | A class trainer in one of the capital cities, Legacy talents included |
| Dual Specialization | From level 40 |
| Respec cost at launch | Not announced (1 silver on the beta, a beta-only rule) |
| Legacy perk Talented | Talent points 5 levels earlier |
Every class deep dive carries the same warning: class abilities and talents "may continue to evolve throughout the beta test". The values below are the ones Blizzard published between September 24 and October 15, 2026, when the last beta notes came out.
What is the new 16-point talent milestone?
WoW Forever adds a fourth tier of key talents at 16 points in each tree, between the classic 11, 21 and 31-point talents. Some are new abilities, such as Vanguard, which lets Protection warriors Charge in Defensive Stance, or Binding Heal for Holy priests. Others moved to be reached sooner, like the shaman's Stormstrike, down from 31 to 16 points with an 8-second cooldown.
| Class | 16-point talents by tree |
|---|---|
| Warrior | Arms: Spearing Strike (new). Fury: Raging Blows (new). Protection: Vanguard (new) |
| Priest | Discipline: Soul Warding. Holy: Binding Heal (new). Shadow: Vampiric Embrace (moved) |
| Hunter | Beast Mastery: Summon Hawk (new). Survival: Counterattack (moved). Marksmanship: not stated |
| Druid | Balance: Insect Swarm (moved from Restoration). Feral: Shifting Power (cat) and Primal Bite (bear) on the same row. Restoration: Swiftmend (moved) |
| Mage | Arcane: Missile Barrage (new). Frost: Ice Block (moved). Fire: not stated |
| Shaman | Elemental: Earthbound since the October 15 beta notes (the article named Call of Thunder, now removed). Enhancement: Stormstrike (down from 31). Restoration: Mana Tide Totem (down from 31) |
| Rogue | Assassination: Cold Blood (down from 21). Combat: Flawless Execution (new). Subtlety: Premeditation (down from 31) |
| Warlock | Affliction: Curse of Exhaustion. Demonology: Fel Domination. Destruction: Conflagrate |
| Paladin | Holy: Divine Favor (moved from 21). Protection: Swift Judgment (new). Retribution: Sacred Arbiter (new) |
The 31-point capstones change too. New ones include Prayer of Mending (Holy priest), Sniper Shot (Marksmanship hunter), Berserk and Wild Growth (druid), Riptide (shaman), Venom and Thousand Cuts (rogue), Wrack, Demonic Pact and Incinerate (warlock), and Light's Vigil and Twist of Light (paladin). Lava Burst, the Elemental capstone in Blizzard's article, moved to 21 points on the October 15 beta notes, and Elemental Mastery came back at 31.
How do you change talents and use dual spec in WoW Forever?
In WoW Forever you change your talents, Legacy talents included, at a class trainer in one of the capital cities, and Dual Specialization becomes available at level 40, according to Blizzard. The launch price of a respec is not announced: on the beta it costs 1 silver, rises after a reset and falls back after one hour, a rule Blizzard calls temporary for the beta only.
Dual Specialization means two talent setups on one character, for example a healing spec for dungeons and a damage spec for questing. Blizzard's articles give no price and no switching rules for it yet; we'll add them once they are published or seen in game.
What changed for all classes?
WoW Forever changes a few rules for every class. Three group buffs no longer need a talent: Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild are baseline. Hit and critical strike are merged between spells, melee and ranged. Talents that trigger free effects proc less from much lower spell ranks, and the frost mage's Cone of Cold and Improved Blizzard were nerfed against gold farmers.
- Baseline buffs: Divine Spirit (priest, level 30), Blessing of Kings (paladin) and Improved Mark of the Wild (druid) are learned without spending talent points.
- Low-rank penalty: talents that trigger a free effect have a lower chance when you cast a much lower rank, "across many classes" according to Blizzard. In the October 1 beta notes, a rank 1 Frostbolt cast at level 60 has a 0% chance to trigger Frostbite.
- Anti-farming nerfs: Cone of Cold lasts less and the Improved Blizzard slow is capped at 40% (it was 65%), to stop gold farmers and boosters from kiting and farming large packs.
- Merged weapon talents: the warrior's weapon specializations become Weaponmaster, and the rogue's become Hack and Slash.
- More critical strikes: on the beta, many heals and damage over time effects can now crit, including Renew, Rejuvenation, Wild Growth, Riptide, Devouring Plague and Hellfire.
Which roles can each class play in WoW Forever?
In WoW Forever, warriors, druids and paladins are the tanks, priests, druids, shamans and paladins heal, and all nine classes deal damage. No new tank or healer class is announced. What changes is the toolkit: the paladin gets a taunt through Judgment, bear druids gain from Defense gear, and Enhancement shamans and hunter pets can serve as temporary tanks in small groups.
| Role | Classes | What's new |
|---|---|---|
| Tank | Warrior, druid, paladin | Warrior: Vanguard (Charge in Defensive Stance), Rage from damage taken no longer tied to armor. Druid: Thick Hide makes Defense gear count, Primal Bite, Lacerate at 42. Paladin: Seal of Fury at level 10 turns Judgment into a 10-yard taunt, Consecration at 20, Templar's Bulwark at 21 points |
| Situational tank | Enhancement shaman, hunter pet, warlock Voidwalker | Spirit Weapons with Rockbiter for a temporary tank in small groups; the pet as a tank in solo and small group play; extra threat from Demonic Brand for the Voidwalker |
| Healer | Priest, druid, shaman, paladin | Penance, Binding Heal, Prayer of Mending, Wild Growth, Riptide, Water Shield, Holy Shock on a 10 s cooldown; Holy Precision removes the priest's need for hit gear |
| Damage | All nine classes | Help for hybrids: Mental Dexterity and Mental Quickness (shaman), Careful Aim (hunter), Champion of the Light (paladin), Frostfire Bolt (mage) |
Blizzard keeps some class limits on purpose: hunters still cannot stun or interrupt, druids cannot snare, silence or interrupt, and paladins have no interrupt. Shaman and warlock tanks are "not quite yet", Josh Greenfield told GameSpot, as reported by PC Gamer.
What is the biggest talent change for each class?
Each class in WoW Forever gets one change that reshapes how it plays: Rage that ignores armor for warriors, seals that Judgment no longer consumes for paladins, pets that scale with the hunter's gear, Sap that keeps rogues in Stealth, Shadow Word: Death for every priest, totem presets for shamans, Frostfire Bolt for mages, Banes for warlocks and potions in forms for druids.
| Class | Headline change | New role options |
|---|---|---|
| Warrior | Rage from damage taken uses a fixed armor value and ignores absorbs; new 16-point talents | Protection can Charge in Defensive Stance (Vanguard) |
| Paladin | Seals are no longer consumed by Judgment; Holy Strike at level 6 | Seal of Fury turns Judgment into a taunt for Protection |
| Hunter | Pets scale with your gear and every family has a unique ability; Aimed Shot baseline at 20 | Lone Wolf for play without a pet; melee Survival; the pet as a tank in solo and small groups |
| Rogue | Sap no longer breaks Stealth; one-handed axes | Crowd control role in groups; Backstab Combat build supported |
| Priest | Fear Ward and Devouring Plague for every priest at 20, Shadow Word: Death at 32 | Holy Precision removes the hit need for healers; Penance heals or damages |
| Shaman | Totem bar with presets, 5-minute totems, 60-minute weapon imbues | Enhancement as a temporary tank in small groups (no tank spec announced) |
| Mage | Frostfire Bolt at 40; Arcane Blast, Ice Lance, the Comprehension tradeskill | Damage only; Frost area farming nerfed |
| Warlock | Curse of Agony and Curse of Doom become Banes; pets scale with your stats | The Voidwalker gains extra threat from Demonic Brand |
| Druid | Potions and most consumables usable in forms; Tiger's Fury replaced by Shifting Power | Bears gain from Defense gear; Wild Growth for healers |
Warrior
Rage from damage taken no longer depends on your real armor, and absorbs such as Power Word: Shield no longer cut it. Critical hits give more Rage: +100% in the October 1 beta notes, up from +75% in Blizzard's article. Victory Rush arrives at level 20, Tactical Mastery at 14, and the weapon specializations merge into Weaponmaster. More on the warrior page.
Paladin
Blizzard's paladin deep dive, the last of the class articles, came out on October 15, 2026. Seals are no longer consumed by Judgment, Holy Strike arrives at level 6, Seal of Fury at 10 (its Judgment taunts from 10 yards), Consecration is baseline at 20 and Lay on Hands has a 20-minute cooldown. Holy gets Voice of Truth at 11 points, Divine Favor at 16, Holy Shock at 21 and Light's Vigil at 31; Protection gets Improved Seal of Fury at 11, Swift Judgment at 16 and Templar's Bulwark at 21; Retribution gets Sacred Arbiter at 16, Repentance at 21 and Twist of Light at 31. Blessing of Kings is baseline and Blessing of Sanctuary is removed. On the beta, the October 15 notes then replaced Blessing of Salvation with Salvation and Mass Salvation. Undead can now be paladins, the only Horde race that can. More on the paladin page.
Hunter
Aimed Shot is baseline at level 20, traps work in combat on a 30-second cooldown, and pets scale with your gear. The Fox is a new pet family, and every family gets a unique ability. Marksmanship gains Lone Wolf (+20% damage without a pet) and Sniper Shot (4-second cast, 45 yards), and Survival turns to melee with Strider Kick and Lacerating Strikes. More on the hunter page.
Rogue
Sap no longer breaks Stealth, rogues can equip one-handed axes, and Expose Armor now equals five Sunder Armor. Assassination gets Mutilate at 21 points and Venom at 31, Subtlety gets Thousand Cuts at 31, and Combat merges its weapon specializations into Hack and Slash. More on the rogue page.
Priest
Every priest gets Fear Ward and Devouring Plague at level 20, whatever the race, and Shadow Word: Death at 32. Discipline gains Penance at 21 points, Holy gains Binding Heal at 16 and Prayer of Mending at 31, and two old Holy talents, Lightwell and Improved Prayer of Healing, are removed. Shadowform now allows all non-healing spells. Priest mana is covered in our five-second rule guide. More on the priest page.
Shaman
Totems use a 1-second global cooldown, buff totems last 5 minutes, a totem bar shows the timers, and Call of the Elements (level 20) drops four preset totems at once, with more presets at 30 and 40. Weapon imbues last 60 minutes. Blizzard's article gave Elemental Lava Burst at 31 points without Elemental Mastery; the October 15 beta notes moved Lava Burst to 21 points and Earthbound to 16, removed Call of Thunder and brought Elemental Mastery back at 31 (Lightning Bolt and Lava Burst 0.5 seconds faster, 3-minute cooldown). The same notes made four buff totems raid-wide. Dwarves can now be shamans. More on the shaman page.
Mage
Frostfire Bolt arrives at level 40 and counts as both Fire and Frost. Arcane gets Arcane Blast at 11 points and Missile Barrage at 16 (in the first row since beta build 70425), Frost gets Ice Lance at 11, Fire gets Heating Up, and Cold Snap moves to 21 points with a 10-minute cooldown. The October 15 beta notes added Frost Blast, a level 24 spell that slows by 40%. Mages also learn Comprehension, a minor tradeskill to decipher scrolls. Orcs can now be mages. More on the mage page.
Warlock
Curse of Agony and Curse of Doom become Banes, with one Bane per warlock on each target. Firestone and Spellstone become weapon imbues, pets scale from your stats, and Curse of Shadows is removed. New talents include Bane of Havoc at 21 points and Wrack, Demonic Pact and Incinerate at 31. Trolls can now be warlocks. More on the warlock page.
Druid
Potions and most consumables work in forms, and so do weapon enchants and procs. Tiger's Fury is removed and replaced by Shifting Power, bears get Primal Bite instead of Mangle and Lacerate at level 42, and Thick Hide lets bears gain from Defense gear. Feral gets Berserk at 31 points and Restoration gets Wild Growth at 31. More on the druid page.
Will talents change before WoW Forever launches?
Blizzard says they can: every WoW Forever class deep dive warns that abilities and talents may continue to evolve, and the beta, which closed on October 23, 2026, changed several talents after the articles, such as the Fury warrior rework of October 1, the Penance retune of October 8 and the return of Elemental Mastery on October 15. Launch is November 4, 2026.
- Warrior, October 1: Fury rework with the new talents Lingering Rage, Furious Precision and Gore Drinker; Improved Cleave and Boundless Rage removed.
- Druid, October 1: Shifting Power arrives (Cat Form only, 16-second cooldown, 55% of base mana turned into 40 Energy).
- Priest, October 8: Penance retuned as a 2-second channel; its rank 1 costs 50% more mana.
- Shaman, September 24: Elemental Alacrity swapped rows with Elemental Fury, and Rage of the Farseer lost its spell haste.
- Paladin, September 24 and October 1: Improved Holy Strike made baseline, then Holy Shield's block chance raised from 20% to 30%.
- Shaman, October 15: Elemental Mastery back at 31 points, Lava Burst at 21, Earthbound at 16, Call of Thunder removed.
- Warlock, October 15: Malediction replaced by Grim Reach, which adds 10/20% range to Affliction spells.
The game files of build 1.60.1.70532, the last beta build and also the Forever client (same talents as build 1.60.1.70425 of the October 15 notes), move several talents away from the articles: Lava Burst drops to 21 points and Elemental Mastery is back at 31, Call of Thunder is gone and Improved Fire Nova becomes Trial by Fire; Missile Barrage moves to the first Arcane row with 2 ranks and the new Arcane Wrath sits at 16 points; Improved Fade and Shadow Affinity are gone and Dark Inspiration is new. Our talent calculator follows this build.
As of October 25, 2026, the October 15 notes were the last beta change log, and the paladin deep dive completes the five class articles. Talents can still change at launch; we'll update this guide with what players see in game.
Sources
- Blizzard: WoW Forever Class Deep Dive, Priest and Warrior (September 30, 2026)
- Blizzard: WoW Forever Class Deep Dive, Hunter and Druid (September 30, 2026)
- Blizzard: WoW Forever Class Deep Dive, Mage and Shaman (October 7, 2026)
- Blizzard: WoW Forever Class Deep Dive, Rogue and Warlock (October 7, 2026)
- Blizzard: World of Warcraft: Forever Class Deep Dives, Paladin (October 15, 2026)
- Blizzard: Deep Dive panel recap (talents, baseline buffs, paladin)
- Blizzard: Create the Hero (new race and class combinations)
- Blizzard: Legacy System (the Talented perk)
- Blizzard forums (Kaivax): beta change log, September 24, 2026 notes
- Blizzard forums (Kaivax): beta change log, October 1, 2026 notes
- Blizzard forums (Kaivax): beta change log, October 8, 2026 notes
- Blizzard forums (Kaivax): beta change log, October 15, 2026 notes
- Blizzard forums: Fury warrior changes, October 1, 2026
- PC Gamer: Bad news for shaman tank hopefuls (September 16, 2026)
Frequently asked questions
At what level do talents start in WoW Forever?
At level 10. Key one-point talents sit at 11, 16, 21 and 31 points, the 16-point milestone being new in WoW Forever.
Is there dual spec in WoW Forever?
Yes. Dual Specialization becomes available at level 40, according to Blizzard's class deep dives.
Where do you reset talents in WoW Forever?
At a class trainer in one of the capital cities. The same trainer also changes your Legacy talents.
How much does a talent respec cost in WoW Forever?
The launch price has not been announced. On the beta a respec costs 1 silver and the price falls back after one hour, a rule Blizzard calls temporary for the beta only.
What is the 16-point talent in WoW Forever?
A new key talent tier at 16 points in each tree. Examples: Vanguard for Protection warriors, Binding Heal for Holy priests and Stormstrike, moved down from 31 points, for Enhancement shamans.
Are WoW Forever talent trees the same as in Classic?
The structure is the same, with three trees per class and the same number of rows as patch 1.12, but every class has new, moved, merged or removed talents.
Which buffs no longer need a talent in WoW Forever?
Divine Spirit, Blessing of Kings and Improved Mark of the Wild are now baseline.
Can shamans or warlocks tank in WoW Forever?
No tank spec is announced for them. Enhancement shamans can serve as temporary tanks in small groups, and a Blizzard developer said shaman and warlock tanks are not quite there yet.
Is the paladin talent tree known?
Yes. Blizzard's paladin deep dive of October 15, 2026 names its key talents, for example Swift Judgment at 16 points for Protection and Twist of Light at 31 points for Retribution.
More guides
On the same theme, then the newest:




Getting started
WoW Forever vs Classic Era vs Retail: the differences


